“Error”

This chapter from Harris was interesting and pulled together a myriad of view points from different professionals across the field. What I drew from the piece stemmed from Shaughnessy’s work. I think Harris took part of the chapter to disown some of her work for it was not done with great depth seeing as that she was focusing on timed first drafts and the results of her work seemed to only show that her students could improve on the inception of those first drafts. However I think that Shaughnessy is correct in that unskilled writers or basic who come off as hopeless are not so. That though practice, these writers can produce similar material to that which is being produced by the mainstream literacy writers. I think that her work comes from a good place as well. Based off what was presented from her work she cared about improving the students she was working with. I think this was valiant but could have clouded some of the work she was doing with optimism. This is at least what I get from Harris’ interpretation.

Leave a comment